Becoming an Architect

Architecture courses that lead to registration with the Architects Registration Board (ARB) and chartered membership of the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) are separated into three qualifications - RIBA Part 1, 2 and 3.  Each element has to be prescribed/validated by the ARB and RIBA to lead to registration with ARB and membership of the RIBA.

There are two institutions within Northern Ireland offer prescribed/ validated courses in architecture - Queen's University Belfast (since 1965) and University of Ulster (since 2006).

Prescribed and Validated Courses in Northern Ireland

RIBA Parts 1, 2 & 3
Queen's University Belfast

RIBA Parts 1 & 2
University of Ulster

'ARB Part 3
The Final Qualification in Architectural Practice ARC-ex Belfast 

Further information regarding other validated courses and studying architecture can be found at:

ARB Education website

RIBA Education Website